New Jersey DWI law may be undergoing a big. big change that will have a huge impact on individuals convicted of driving drunk. The act, S-2427, passed by the Senate on June 27th yet still must pass through the Assembly before it can be signed by the Governor. If it does pass into law, however, it… Read more »
Monthly Archives: July 2013
N.J.S.A. 39:4-50(a)(3) provides a certain measure of relief to multiple offenders who go more than 10 years between offenses. Pursuant to this rule, if the second DWI offense occurs more than 10 years after the first offense, the Court is required to treat the second DWI offense as a first offense for sentencing purposes. The… Read more »
Contrary to popular belief, a person may not be convicted of operating a bicycle while under the influence of an intoxicating liquor pursuant to New Jersey’s DWI statute, N.J.S. 39:4-50. The New Jersey drunken driving legislation expressly excludes muscular powered bicycles from its proscriptions. The rationale for this is in the text of the law… Read more »
First and foremost, I cannot stress enough the importance of NOT GETTING BEHIND THE WHEEL OF A CAR AFTER CONSUMING ALCOHOL. Drinking and driving kills, ruins lives and costs a boat load of money. Tip # 1: Don’t drink and drive. Get a cab or designate a sober driver. The risk is far too great… Read more »
In its ongoing effort to curb drunk driving in New Jersey, the Legislature has authorized a sentencing option for municipal court judges that will permit them to order a defendant to participate in a supervised visitation program. Although it is available for all convicted drunk drivers, the use of the visitation program is intended to… Read more »
DISCLAIMER The materials available at this web site/blog are for informational purposes only and not for the purpose of providing legal advice. Do not drink and drive! For actual legal advice contact HANNAN & BLACK LAW GROUP. Again, do not drink and drive!